Question

I'm new to RSPS and not experienced with coding at all. So, obviously I may come off as a complete noob. But I need help with my 317 I've been working on.

YES, I have followed the "make your own RSPS 317 guide" and am able to play the server on my own PC. The problems lie where I can not get others on the server.

1) When I portforwarded, I opened port 43594 but I'm not sure what IP to foward out TO? (Can't use my router's IP or PC's IP.. I heard I can use IPv4 Address under ipconfig on my PC?)

2) I sent my friend Client folder(including everything for client, NO source). And everytime he opens client and is on the login screen, he gets error connecting to server? --(YES, I have a No-ip setup and have no-ip running with host open, I changed every "server = " inside the client.java and gui.java to MY no-ip host address)

3) I JAR'ed the client folder and sent it to my friend as Play.jar and clicking it does nothing. No client, no command menu, no .txt, nothing. I used JARmaker but apparently something didn't work?

4) My compiler is messed up but least important to me right now..

I can play the server on my PC, but could anyone walk me through what I need to send to others to play my server, and why they can't play?

So much thanks to anyone who can help! Edited by Mattice

4 answers to this question

[quote name='Mattice']I'm new to RSPS and not experienced with coding at all. So, obviously I may come off as a complete noob. But I need help with my 317 I've been working on.

YES, I have followed the "make your own RSPS 317 guide" and am able to play the server on my own PC. The problems lie where I can not get others on the server.

1) When I portforwarded, I opened port 43594 but I'm not sure what IP to foward out TO? (Can't use my router's IP or PC's IP.. I heard I can use IPv4 Address under ipconfig on my PC?)