EvolvedBlitz

Fighting

Martial Arts: Is it a good thing that should be encouraged in our society?

In many martial arts you are taught that your skills are to be used for self defense. I find it good that people should know self defense because you never know what could occur. Is it a good thing that should be encouraged in our society? Yes, to the extent that it is used for self defense.

I think it depends on your environment. If your living in NYC, with gangs and shit, then it's important to know. But people like me that don't have violence in our city, there isn't any need. In my opinion it should still be encouraged, as a way of staying fit.

From experience i can tell you that martial arts are just flashy moves and not effective in self-defense situation. I've been training Taekwondo for 2 years and got myself into a fight once and i won but i did get injured at the end and i realized that all these flashy moves and techniques are useless at the time i was 13 years old now I'm 16 and I currently do boxing and been boxing for 2 years and i can tell you for sure that Martial arts can't be compared to how effective boxing is.

[quote name='Zaichis']From experience i can tell you that martial arts are just flashy moves and not effective in self-defense situation. I've been training Taekwondo for 2 years and got myself into a fight once and i won but i did get injured at the end and i realized that all these flashy moves and techniques are useless at the time i was 13 years old now I'm 16 and I'm currently go boxing and been boxing for 2 years and i can tell you for sure that Martial arts can't be compared to how effective boxing is.[/QUOTE]